Maple Oatmeal Cinnamon Waffle Scone

I’ve never had a scone that made me stop and say “damn that’s a great scone.” I’ve never really been all that impressed with scones – too dry, not enough fruit, not enough like other baked goods that I enjoy. When we decided the first waffle-off challenge was to be a waffled scone, I was a little nervous. When I started looking up recipes to waffle, I became even more nervous. There was rolling and cutting involved…and I definitely needed to buy more butter. I had no idea how this was going to translate into a waffle iron. We’ve waffled some strange things, but I really had no idea what to expect with the dough I was about to create.

When I finally settled on a recipe, I selected a recipe that reflected the type of scones I have typically eaten and semi-enjoyed (since I knew Anna was doing something with raspberries, I decided to go in a different direction than I probably would have initially gone). I also selected a recipe that didn’t make me feel like I ingested calories just by reading the recipe – not quite as much butter and included whole wheat flour, maple syrup as primary sweetener, and oats (although I still don’t want to know how many calories are in this thing!). I was concerned that the use of the maple syrup in both the scone and the glaze and the texture of waffle-scone made the finished product too waffle-like and not enough scone-like; however, when in front of the judges, they found my entry to lack in waffle-likeness. Who knew.

The recipe is very simple and since I was making a relatively small number of waffle-scones, and chose to make them smaller than what Anna and Austin made, I halved the recipe (the full recipe is presented below). When the waffle-scone first came out of the waffle iron, I was disappointed with both the taste and the consistency. However, once they cooled and I added the glaze, the waffle-scone changed dramatically and turned out to be subtly sweet and more scone-like than they were when hot.

Why anyone would roll out the dough and cut it out when you can waffle the scone, is beyond me; but if I ever venture into scone-making territory again, I am pretty sure mine will be waffled.

Ingredients

Scone:
3 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 cup whole wheat flour
1 cup quick-cooking oats, plus additional for sprinkling
2 tablespoons baking powder
2 tablespoons granulated sugar
1 teaspoon baking spice
2 teaspoons salt
1 pound cold unsalted butter, diced
1/2 cup buttermilk
1/2 cup pure maple sugar
4 eggs, lightly beaten
1 teaspoon vanilla

Glaze:
1 1/4 cups confectioners’ sugar
1/2 cup pure maple syrup
1 teaspoon vanilla

Directions

Scone:
1. Combine the flours, oats, baking powder, sugar, baking spice, and salt.
2. Blend the cold butter in at the lowest speed and mix until the butter is in pea-sized pieces.
3. Combine the buttermilk, maple syrup, eggs, and vanilla, and add quickly to the flour-and-butter mixture.
4. Mix until just blended.
5. Scoop onto hot waffle iron in desired size and press down.
6. Cook slightly longer than the light indicates, until the scone is a nice golden brown.

Glaze:
1. Combine the confectioners’ sugar, maple sugar, and vanilla.
2. When the scones are done, cool for 5 minutes and drizzle each scone with 1 tablespoon of glaze.
3. Sprinkle uncooked oats on top for garnish.

(Recipe adapted from The Barefoot Contessa Cookbook, 1999, www.foodnetwork.com)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

